33479 Lake Road, Suite C Avon Lake, OH 44012

The John T. Shook Award


The John T. Shook award pays tribute to a very special friend, and longtime CRS Board member who passed away in 2018. John touched the lives of so many people in our community, including those of us here at CRS. He was dedicated to community service and volunteered for many local organizations including CRS, Avon Lake Kiwanis, St. Joseph Church and Beachpark Tower. In John’s memory, the CRS Board established an award in his name, to be given annually to an individual or group that embodies John’s commitment to volunteerism for CRS and in our community.


We are currently accepting nominations for the John T. Shook Award.  If you know an individual or organization that has been dedicated to volunteering for CRS and other organizations in our community, please click the following link for more information and to access the John T. Shook Award Nomination Form

The recipient will be announced at the Annual Charity Ball on January 29, 2022.

The deadline to submit nominations in November 1, 2021.

The 2021 John T. Shook award was given to the Hooks for Hunger Committee, a group of volunteers who work tirelessly each year to raise funds for CRS through their annual walleye fishing tournament. Since its inception in 2013, this group has donated approximately $140,000 to CRS. This past summer, even though they were unable to hold the event, they instead held the “Fill da Boat” food and funds drive. They collected over $12,000 and 2,100 pounds of food. The Hooks for Hunger Committee: Ed Moran, Joe Reitz, Tony Tomanek, Scott Bruegger, Sean Boutin, Brian Belmont, Tyler Randall, Jim DePaul and Craig Lewis.

The 2020 John Shook Award was given to Pastor Jeffrey Phail of Christian-Heritage Church in Avon for his work with the Summer Lunch Program.  In 2017 he recognized an opportunity to help feed students who received free or reduced lunches during the school year, but faced food insecurity during the summer months.  The Summer Lunch Program continues to grow each year. During the summer of 2019 they served 4,091 lunches. Pastor Phail organized over 800 volunteers from 8 local churches, the Avon Schools, the Avon Library, The Cleveland Clinic Avon Hospital, and God’s Soldier Ministry.